17 Years and Counting

Today marks our 17th year together. My husband and I have been together for over half of our lives. That seems totally crazy to me.
In one way it feels like yesterday that we danced at our Deb Ball, babies at 16 years old. He was nervous to hold my hand and I smile at the memory now.
In another way it feels like a lifetime ago, we have grown and learned and experiences so much together in that time.
We have loved and laughed and hurt and cried. We have been exuberantly happy and incredibly sad. There have been times when we loved each other more than we could possibly imagine, and times that we have been so furious we couldn’t even look at each other.
But, when we’re angry it is short lived. There is something that draws us together again. I have been known to end an argument by curling up in his arms with the words ‘I hate you.’ And he chuckles because he knows as well as I do that it is the farthest thing from the truth.

The truth is I am eternally grateful that we found each other so young, we have already had so much time together and I am grateful for every single day.

People often say ‘you’re lucky you have grown together, instead of growing apart.’ Sorry, but luck has nothing to do with it. We have grown together because we have made it so. We have worked and compromised and always been considerate. With me watching his back and making sure his dreams are met, and him doing the same for me, growing together was the only option.

When we were engaged at 19 the vast majority of people expected us to fail for no other reason than our age. I’m here to tell you that age makes not a scrap of difference to the success or failure of a relationship. Commitment makes the difference; commitment to each other and to the relationship. Communication and respect make all the difference. We may still have a long way to go, and the road isn’t always going to be easy, but we will continue to do as we have always done; hold tight to each other and ride the storm together.

My husband is my strength, my light and my life. 17 years ago we knew that we would be together forever. Hard to believe that you can ‘know’ at 16, but we did. We promised never to become complacent or inattentive and that promise has only grown stronger as we have travelled down life’s road together. He can still make me laugh.  I still count the minutes until he walks in the door each night and then I am complete again. He is the yang to my yin. He is my everything.  

O, All I want is you.  xo

This entry was posted in Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 17 Years and Counting

  1. Jennie says:

    I remember well the first time I saw Rod, he the new kid in school, and at 12 somehow knew he would be part of my life. Took awhile, 39 wonderful years later he is still the love of my life, we have shared heart ache and pain, love and laughter, he is what makes me whole, what a wonderful journey through life marriage has been and will continue to be. Congratulations to you both on your journey thus far.

Leave a Reply

